Parivartan NGO honours 7 Personalities for Service to Society: Former CS BR Sharma, KB Jandial & former Judge Subash Gupta remain present

An awards-giving function was organized at Press Club, Jammu today by ‘Parivartan’- NGO working for the socio-economic growth and upliftment of the marginalized and needy sections of the society. Mr. B R Sharma, former Chief Secretary, and State Election Commissioner was the chief guest in the award giving function in which former IAS officer and PSC Member Mr. K B Jandial and former District and Session Judge and PSC Member Mr. Subash Gupta were guests of honour. Seven prominent personalities were awarded with the Yashpal Sharma Memorial Award for their contributions in different fields of life. The awards were presented on the recommendation of the award review committee appointed by the NGO. Those who were awarded this prestigious award included K D Maini, an eminent historian and writer, S. Gurdev Singh, President, J&K Sharan Arthi Action Committee, Krishan Lal Sharma, an outstanding sportsperson & retired Divisional Sports Officer, Advocate Mohammad Zaman, Former Bar Association President, Poonch, and Dr. Shailender Sharma (posthumously) is known for his exceptional health services in twin border districts of Rajouri and Poonch. The award committee also recommended two awards under the Young Achievers’ Category viz. Dr. Kewal Sharma, Medical Officer GMC Jammu,and Gagan Mahajan, Founder Editor of The Pir Panjal Times.

Speaking on this occasion, Sh, B R Sharma said that Late Yashpal Sharma had dedicated his whole life to the people of Poonch, and who had set an example for the younger generation to follow him. He further informed that it was all due to the values and teachings of late Yashpal Sharma that his younger brother Dr. Sushil Sharma also dedicated his life to the service of the society. Dr. Nitan Sharma, Assistant Professor, The Law School shed light on the contribution of Late Sh.Yashpal Sharma as a social reformer, political activist and a philanthropist. Dr. Sushil Sharma, HoD Cardiology and younger brother of Sh.Yashpal Sharma recounted the struggle and contribution of his brother in shaping the destiny of millions of people in remote border areas especially of Poonch and Rajouri. He also maintained that it’s high time for the younger generations to learn the aspect of carrying forward the legacy of their forefathers in the form of traditions, values, and compassion for all rather than material gains only. Anu Sharma, Lecturer from Sunderbani also shared a poem written by her, eulogizing the daunting spirit and integrity of Sh. Yashpal Sharma. Earlier the function started with the introductory address by Vikrant Sharma.

Flower bouquets were presented to the guests on the occasion as a token of gratitude. Romi Sharma Founder-cum-President ‘Parivartan’ NGO highlighted the recent activities undertaken by the NGO. She informed regarding the inception of awards in the memory of Late Yashpal Sharma. She revealed how her interaction with Yashpal Sharma in a face-to-face interview has changed her perception regarding the problems of people living in border areas, especially the PoJK displaced section. Prominent people who were present on the occasion included Advocate Sunil Sharma, President, Municipal Council Poonch, Maj Gen Goverdhan Singh Jamwal, Dr. Rekha Chowdhary, Ex-MLC Ravinder Sharma, Dr. Javaid Rahi, Sqn Ldr Anil Sehgal, Sanjeev Nirdosh film Director, M L Sharma, Cardiologist Sh. Om Parkash Khajuria, Convener,Jammu Province. Industrialist Madan Bhargav, Sh Harbans Sharma, Principal (Retd), Dr. Surinder Sharma, Dr. Sandeep Singh, S Tirlok Singh Tara, Preeti Sharma, Ekshu Sharma, Advocate Sanjeev Sharma and Ifthkar Ahmed Bazmi. The vote of thanks was extended by Romi Sharma, Founder-cum- President, ‘Parivartan’ NGO.